The Beautification Committee of Sauk Village hosted its annual Community Beautification Awards Program for the many residents who take pride in their homes and in highlighting them. "The *Hootsie Award* was re-instituted in 2010 to honor home-owners, businesses and other organizations who were nominated by residents. Once nominated, committee members pay a visit to the home or establishment and rate the homes using a specialized ranking sheet. Points are calculated and awards go to the highest ranking homes in each of four categories, Single Family Residences, Multi-family complexes, Businesses, and Government/Religious/Institutions.

The Beautification Committee will present Certificate of Excellence Awards to the 2011 winners of the Community Beautification Awards, fondly called The Hootsies, at the September 13th Village Board Meeting. Yard Signs were placed on the lawns of all twelve winners Sunday, August 21, 2011.

Please join us as we congratulate the Award Winners for the Sauk Village 2011 Beautification Awards, "The Hootsie." They are:

Single Family Category

1st Place - Mr. & Mrs. Melvin and Hazel Neal, Deer Creek

2nd Place - Mr. & Mrs. James & Sharon Samuels - 1700 East Peterson Street

3rd Place - Mr. & Mrs. Joe & Sue Phillips -221st & Brookwood Street

Awardees

Mr. Philip Bonaporte - 225th & Jeffery

The Derek and Juanita Burgess - Deer Creek

Mr. & Mrs. Jerry & Veronica Cook - 219th & Merrill Avenue

Felicia Cyrus - 1700 E. 225th Street

Mr. & Mrs. Robert & Rosemary Ketcham- 224th & Strassburg

Mr. Frank Kristina - 221st & Brookwood

Mr. & Mrs. Reynold & Virginia Roberts - 225th & Brookwood

Ms. Berta Tarado - 216th & Jeffery

Business Category

Dunkin' Donuts - Sauk Trail & Torrence

Judging and delivering the awards are truly an emotional experience for the committee. There were tears, hugs, shouts of gladness, one recipient even danced a jig, and overall thankfulness was expressed. Two of the awardees are battling cancer; another expressed a year that was full of mishaps so these awards really do matter to them! At one home, a large group of neighbors was out and cheered as the award was presented. It is VERY TOUCHING!

Committee Members are, Charlotte Campbell, Barb Fosle, Linda Todd, Steve Blom, Jeffrey Morden, Mary Escobedo, Angelica Chavez, Robert Chavez, Ida Chavez, Bobby Chavez, AnnMarie Morden, Sheryl Thomas and Chairman, Marva Campbell-Pruitt.